Holy Spirit Interactive
Friday, August 17, 2018
Inside Holy Spirit Interactive

Daily Bible Study

The Pentateuch

Frank Meisler Judaica: Pentateuch http://www.artcnet.com/New_Works/New_Worksten.html The first five books of the Bible - Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy - are referred to as the Pentateuch, which comes from the Greek terms “penta” meaning “five”, and “teuchos” meaning “scroll”.

The Pentateuch - also referred to as the “Books of the Law”; “Torah”, a Hebrew word meaning “instruction”; or the “Five books of Moses” - constitutes the theological backbone of the Bible. Within their pages is a chronological and theological progression which gives us a history of the chosen people from the creation of the world to the death of Moses, it shows the story of man’s fall away from fellowship with God coupled to God’s efforts to reestablish this relationship, and it acquaints us with the civil and religious legislation of the Israelites during the life of their great lawgiver.

While no author is named in the Pentateuch, the books are traditionally attributed to Moses, both because Moses is ordered several times to write God’s word (Exodus 17:14; 24:4, 7; 34:27; Num 33:1-2; Deut 31:9,22), and because several verses in the balance of the Old Testament and the New Testament witness to Moses’ authorship of these books (Joshua 1:7-8; 8:32, 34; 22:5; 1 Kings 2:3; 2 Kings 14:6; 21:8; Ezra 6:18; Dan 9:11-13; Mal 4:4; Matt 19:18; Mark 12:26; Luke 2:22; 16:29; 24:27; John 5:46-47; 7:19; Acts 13:39; Rom 10:5).

Quick Facts:
Pentateuch: (means "five scrolls") Comprises the first five books of the Bible

Additional Reference:
An introduction to the Pentateuch