Holy Spirit Interactive
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Inside Holy Spirit Interactive

Daily Bible Study


The Kings of Divided Israel

Following the death of King Solomon, the nation of Israel was divided into two parts - North (comprising ten of the twelve tribes of Israel) and South (Judah and Benjamin). The northern kingdom was not blessed with a single righteous king. Judah, on the other hand, was gifted with several, though they had their share of sinful kings too who sought to do the will of non-existent pagan gods rather than of the true God who brought Israel into existence.

These are the Kings of Israel:

  1. Jeroboam I: Led secession of Israel.
  2. Nadab: Son of Jeroboam I.
  3. Baasha: Overthrew Nadab.
  4. Elah: Son of Baasha.
  5. Zimri: Overthrew Elah.
  6. Omri: Overthrew Zimri.
  7. Ahab: Son of Omri; husband of Jezebel.
  8. Ahaziah: Son of Ahab.
  9. Joram: Son of Ahab.
  10. Jehu: Overthrew Jehoram.
  11. Jehoahaz (or Joahaz): Son of Jehu.
  12. Jehoash (or Joash): Son of Jehoahaz.
  13. Jeroboam II: Son of Jehoash.
  14. Zechariah: Son of Jeroboam II.
  15. Shallum: Overthrew Zechariah.
  16. Menahem: Overthrew Shallum.
  17. Pekahiah: Son of Menahem.
  18. Pekah: Overthrew Pekahiah.
  19. Hoshea: Overthrew Pekah; kingdom overthrown by Assyrians under Sargon II.
Quick Facts:
The Kings of Judah: 20 Kings from Rehoboam to Zedekiah

Additional Reference: See also The Twelve Tribes of Israel and The Kings of Israel