Holy Spirit Interactive
Saturday, August 18, 2018
Inside Holy Spirit Interactive

Daily Bible Study


The Kings of Judah

Following the death of King Solomon, the nation of Israel was divided into two parts - North (comprising ten of the twelve tribes of Israel) and South (Judah and Benjamin). The northern kingdom was not blessed with a single righteous king. Judah, on the other hand, was gifted with several, though they had their share of sinful kings too who sought to do the will of non-existent pagan gods rather than of the true God who brought Israel into existence.

These are the Kings of Judah:

  1. Rehoboam: First King.
  2. Abijah (or Abijam or Abia): Son of Rehoboam.
  3. Asa: Probably son of Abijah.
  4. Jehoshaphat: Son of Asa.
  5. Jehoram (or Joram): Son of Jehoshaphat; husband of Athaliah.
  6. Ahaziah: Son of Jehoram and Athaliah.
  7. Athaliah: Daughter of King Ahab of Israel and Jezebel; wife of Jehoram; only queen to occupy the throne of Judah.
  8. Joash (or Jehoash): Son of Ahaziah.
  9. Amaziah: Son of Joash.
  10. Uzziah (or Azariah): Son of Amaziah.
  11. Jotham: Regent, later King; son of Uzziah.
  12. Ahaz: Son of Jotham.
  13. Hezekiah: Son of Ahaz; husband of Hephzi-Bah.
  14. Manasseh: Son of Hezekiah and Hephzi-Bah.
  15. Amon: Son of Manasseh.
  16. Josiah (or Josias): Son of Amon.
  17. Jehoahaz (or Joahaz): Son of Josiah.
  18. Jehoiakim: Son of Josiah.
  19. Jehoiachin: Son of Jehoiakim.
  20. Zedekiah: Son of Josiah; kingdom overthrown by Babylonians under Nebuchadnezzar.
Quick Facts:
The Kings of Judah: 20 Kings from Rehoboam to Zedekiah

Additional Reference: See also The Twelve Tribes of Israel and The Kings of Israel