Holy Spirit Interactive
Saturday, April 21, 2018
Inside Holy Spirit Interactive

The Complete Catholic Handbook

The Complete Catholic Handbook

Chapter 4: Charity - The Commandments of God

  1. What is Charity?
    Charity is a supernatural gift of God, by which we love God above all things, and our neighbour as ourselves for God’s sake.

  2. Why must we love God?
    We must love God because He is infinitely good in Himself and infinitely good to us.

  3. How do we show that we love God?
    We show that we love God by keeping His Commandments; for Christ says, ‘If you love Me, keep My Commandments’. (John 15:15)

  4. How many Commandments are there?
    There are ten Commandments.

  5. Say the ten Commandments?
    I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, and out of the house of bondage.

    1. Thou shalt not have strange gods before Me. Thou shalt not make to thyself any graven thing, nor the likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, nor of those things that are given in the waters under the earth. Thou shalt not adore them nor serve them.
    2. Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain.
    3. Remember that thou keep holy the Sabbath day.
    4. Honour thy father and thy mother.
    5. Thou shalt not kill.
    6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
    7. Thou shalt not steal.
    8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.
    9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife.
    10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s goods.

    Ten Commandments. They are sometimes called the ‘Decalogue’, which means ten words or precepts. They are written on two stone tables: the first three, relating particularly to God, being on one; and the remaining seven, which relate immediately to our neighbours and ourselves, being on the other. These Commandments are of themselves always binding under pain of sin. They teach us our Morals, or what we must do to be saved. They can never be altered.

    Egypt. A country in the north-east of Africa, where the Jews were treated as slaves, until delivered by Moses.

    Bondage. Captivity, slavery, deprived of liberty.

  6. Who gave the ten Commandments?
    God gave the ten Commandments to Moses in the Old Law, and Christ confirmed them in the New.

Next: The First Commandment