Holy Spirit Interactive
Monday, June 25, 2018
Inside Holy Spirit Interactive

The Holy Rosary

Holy Spirit Interactive: The Holy Rosary: The Glorious Mysteries

The Holy Rosary: The Glorious Mysteries

The first Glorious Mystery: The Resurrection of our Lord

On the third day, the first Easter Sunday morning, Jesus comes back to life. The stone covering His tomb is removed, and the Roman guards faint. He later appears to Magdalen and sends her to the Apostles with the Good News. In the evening, He appears to them behind locked doors.

The second Glorious Mystery: The Ascention into Heaven

Jesus appears to the disciples over the course of 40 days. Then, on that Thursday, He leads them to a mountain top. There, the apostles receive their commission to preach to the world and to baptize in the Name of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Jesus ascends into the clouds, while angels foretell His return.

The third Glorious Mystery: The Descent of the Holy Spirit

The disciples pray in the upper room, the Cenacle. On the Jewish feast of Pentecost, 50 days after the Resurrection, and 10 after the Ascension, the Holy Spirit descends on them, like tongues of fire, with charismatic gifts. This little Church grows quickly after Peter preaches the Gospel for the first time.

The fourth Glorious Mystery: The Assumption of Our Lady into Heaven

Death is the penalty for sin but the Immaculate Virgin Mary was sinless. Still, immortality is a gift. So, we do not know whether She died or not. What the Church has always believed, nevertheless, is that, at the end of Her time on earth, our Lady was assumed body and soul into heaven.

The fifth Glorious Mystery: The Crowning of Our Lady in Heaven

Christ the King coronates Mary as Queen, so that She may be perfectly conformed to Him. Because of her humility and obedience to the divine will, our Lady becomes the highest of all creatures. She is the New Eve on the side of the New Adam, revealed with a royal crown of twelve stars.

(If you say only five decades a day, it is customary to say the Glorious Mysteries on Wednesday and Sunday.)

Quick link to the other mysteries:
  1. The Joyful Mysteries
  2. The Luminous Mysteries
  3. The Sorrowful Mysteries
  4. The Glorious Mysteries

E-mail this page to a friend