Holy Spirit Interactive
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Inside Holy Spirit Interactive

The Holy Rosary

Holy Spirit Interactive: The Holy Rosary: The Sorrowful Mysteries

The Holy Rosary: The Sorrowful Mysteries

The first Sorrowful Mystery: The Agony in the Garden

After the institution of the Eucharist and Holy Orders at the Last Supper, Jesus takes the Apostles to the Mount of Olives overlooking Jerusalem, in the Garden of Gethsemani. With Peter, James and John falling asleep nearby, Jesus undergoes profound agony. Judas Iscariot leads a crowd there to arrest Him.

The second Sorrowful Mystery: The Scourging at the Pillar

Pontius Pilate orders his Roman soldiers to whip Jesus. The Precious Blood of Christ is spilled by the fierce assault. Did He receive the customary 39 lashes? To what extent was the flesh of the Savior torn? Consider how much the Lord endured out of love for us, to save us from sin!

The third Sorrowful Mystery: The Crowning with Thorns

Because Jesus is called the King of the Jews, the soldiers coronate Him with a crown of thorns. They strike him and spit at him while pretending to show Him honor. To mock Him even further, they dress him as if in a royal robe, and display Him this way before the crowd. Truly, Jesus is the King of Kings.

The fourth Sorrowful Mystery: The Carrying of the Cross to Calvary

Condemned to Crucifixion, Jesus carries His Cross to Skull Place on Mount Calvary, outside the city walls. He is harassed along the narrow streets by the hostile crowd, but some women show Him pity. Simon of Cyrene is forced to help Him because Jesus does not have enough strength left.

The fifth Sorrowful Mystery: The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus

Stripped of His clothes, Jesus is nailed to the Cross through His Hands and Feet. His Mother is present, with John, Mary Magdalen and other women. People taunt Him as He speaks His seven last statements. He even forgives His offenders. Around 3 o'clock, He dies. Then, His Side is opened.

(If you say only five decades a day, it is customary to say the Sorrowful Mysteries on Tuesday and Friday.)

Quick link to the other mysteries:
  1. The Joyful Mysteries
  2. The Luminous Mysteries
  3. The Sorrowful Mysteries
  4. The Glorious Mysteries

E-mail this page to a friend